National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra

Font Size :


It was started in July 1963, at Punjab Engineering College and Thapar Institute of Engineering & Technology, Patiala, with an intake of 60 students in each of these institutions.

The Institute started functioning in its present campus at Kurukshetra, Haryana State in 1965-66 with 120 students. In the subsequent year, the annual intake was increased to 250 students Thus, the Institute showed a steady progress and was upgraded as National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra on June 26, 2002.

In 2006-07, the Institute introduced two-year MBA programme and four-year B.Tech. degree programmes in Information Technology and Industrial Engineering Management. The Institute started three-year MCA programme in 2007-08. The syllabus and the curriculam are constantly updated to meet the growing demands of the country in different areas of technology.

Under Graduate Programmes (B.Tech.,):
Electronics and Communication Engineering
Computer Engineering
Information Technology
Mechanical Engineering
Industrial Engineering and Management
Electrical Engineering
Civil Engineering

Post Graduate Programmes (M.Tech.,):
M. Tech. course is offered with four semesters for regular students and two semesters for Postgraduate diploma holders, in the relevant disciplines.


Civil Engineering Department:
Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
Structural Engineering
Transportation Engineering
Water Resource Engineering
Environmental Engineering

Electrical Engineering Department:
Control System.
Power System.
Power Electronics and Drives
Electronics and Communication Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Department:
Robotics and Automation


Contact Address:
National Institute of Technology
Kurukshetra – 136119
Phone: +91 01744  233200 / 233100
Fax:     +91 01744  238050

Search this Site

Copyright © 2020 rights reserved | Contact us