Eight varsities make it to the status of 'deemed university' | Kalvimalar - News

Eight varsities make it to the status of 'deemed university'- 8-Apr-2013

Font Size :

New Delhi: After rectifing issues pointed out by the Tandon commitee in 2009, 8 education institutes out of the 44 found lacking in certian domains have qualified to the status of 'deemed university'.

In a comprehensive review of 126 deemed universities, the Tandon committee in 2009, had found only 38 (group A) fit to qualify as deemed universities while 44 (group B) were found deficient in some parameters that needed to be rectified. Another 44, put in group C, were found totally unfit to be deemed universities. The affected universities had gone to the Supreme Court and the matter is being heard.

Meanwhile, the eight universities of group B category that made it to the group A list are Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore; SRM University, Chennai; NITTE, Mangalore; KLE, Belgaum; Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune; HBNI (Homi Bhabha), Mumbai; Sathyabama University, Chennai; and Avinashilingam Institute of Higher Education for Women & Home Sciences, Kovai.

The review committee that assessed these 8 universities found that considerable improvements like conforming to UGC guidelines, governance, quality and innovations in teaching, research output, faculty resources, doctoral and other research degree programmes and admission process and award of degrees have been made in these varsities.

The minimum score needed for category A status is 30 and all eight of them scored 31.

In the case of Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), considerable change in the number of faculty with PhD degrees was found and a definite improvement in research output.

At SRM University, the research output as well as the number of students registered for PhD was found to have increased.

The main ground for rejection of these universities had been governance of these universities as it was found that most of them were run by family members of promoters.

However, the review committee did not comment on the present governance aspect of most of the deemed universities, except Bharati Vidyapeeth where it found a real change in the administrative structure.

Viewer's Comment

No Comments Found!
Post Your Comments for the Article :

Your Name

Your Email Id

Your city (or) location

Your country

Your Comment :

Search this Site

Copyright © 2018 rights reserved | Contact us